Guilt Trip

In my Documentary Film class earlier we watched a short film made a Filipino, Ferdinand Dimadura. The short film is entitled Chicken Ala Carte and in 2005 it won in the 56th Berlin International Film Festival. Filmmakers were invited to join a Short Film Competition on the Theme: FOOD, TASTE and HUNGER. I think it is best for you to watch it first, so that I would not preempt what would happen.

DON’T SCROLL DOWN UNTIL AFTER YOU WATCHED IT!


Whenever I eat at any fast food chain or any restaurant, I always make sure to eat everything. Not because I’m a glutton, but because I want to get my money’s worth and most importantly, to make sure that my food would not go to waste. But there are also times when I don’t eat everything on my plate. While watching this I felt the pangs of guilt get to me. I do not always have leftovers, but then I kind of felt bad. Not to the ones who are eating leftovers, but I just felt bad for everything. As they say, one man’s trash is another person’s treasure, which is the subtext of the whole film. It was clearly shown in the film because of the use of effective shots and by using the different kinds of documentary. Unlike other documentaries, it did not have a narration, instead it used music not until the latter part of the film, which made it really strong. It did not dictate the viewers what they should think, it left the thinking to the viewers. What makes this documentary effective even without narrations/voice-overs is that the subject is established, the chicken. We followed the journey of the chicken from the server picking it up and putting it on the plate then putting it in the dummy waiter, etc, etc, until it reaches the table of the man who picked it up from the fast food chain. This documentary was effective enough to sway the audience and make them feel all kinds of emotions.

I think I need to be more socially aware about things. I need to more things like this. I need to watch more of these things. I need to know what’s going on around me.

This is the official description of short film from the UMakeTheConnection Youtube Channel.

25,000 people die each DAY from STARVATION, based on a United Nations report released in 2003 and reported by BBC News. This was before the current food crisis.

This heartbreaking film is about the hunger and poverty brought about by Globalization. This short film shows a forgotten portion of the society. The people who live on the refuse of man to survive. What is inspiring is the hope and spirituality that never left these people.

In February 2006, at the 56th Berlin International Film Festival, Filmmakers were invited to join a Short Film Competition on the Theme: FOOD, TASTE and HUNGER.

3,600 Filmmakers from around the world, joined the competition, but only 32 films were chosen to be screened at the Berlinale Talent Campus.
This film topped the competition by being adjudged the Most Popular Short Film.

2 thoughts on “Guilt Trip

    1. me too. ๐Ÿ™‚ di ba ganun din yung sabi sa joy luck club na book. pero for a different reason, para walang pock marks yung future husband/wife mo.

      Like

Leave a Reply

