Asia and its 50 countries

Why is it when people say Asia, people from the west only think of three countries, Japan, China and Korea. For your information people there are 47 other countries in There are 50 countries and territories that make up Asia, according to the United Nations Statistics Division. The Asian continent is further subdivided into 6 regions, namely Central Asia (5 countries), Eastern Asia (7 countries), Southeast Asia (11 countries), South Asia (9 countries), and West Asia (18 countries). Interestingly, the U.N. does not list Taiwan in its list of Asian countries.