A thing about bands

I love bands. Nope not girl groups nor boy groups. Bands have a special place in my heart. I can say that I like boy/girl groups, but it is different from loving bands. I highly believe that there is a very big difference between the two. I am not really in the mood to type long explanation, I’m too tired plus I have to go to sleep already because I still have work (well, a part time job actually).

So why did I bring up my love for bands? Three words, Up Dharma Down… You’re probably wondering who the hell is Up Dharma Down or is it even a band.

Up dharma Down is a Filipino band that won the In The Raw Award at the 2005 NU 107 Rock Awards, and as Best New Artist and Best Female Award for vocalist and keyboardist, Armi Millare, at the 2006 NU 107 Rock Awards. Their first album, Fragmented, under independent record label Terno Recordings, was released in 2006. Their 2nd album Bipolar is now available all records bars and iTunes.

Apart from that, Mark Cole’s BBC show tagged them as the Asian band to most likely cross over to North American shores, and has been featured in numerous regional shows together with bands such as Arcade Fire (Canada) and Bloc Party (UK). Their eclectic music gave them the leverage to stand above most local bands in the Philippines, enough to be featured in the July 2007 issue of Time Magazine.

Aside from this, they have been recognized by Paul Buchanan of The Blue Nile and Tim Bowness of No-Man.

They performed as front act for Incubus‘ Light Grenades Pacific Rim Tour Manila stop at Araneta Coliseum in Quezon City on March 9, 2008. In 2008, they received the Myx Music Awards for Favorite Indie Artist. The band released their second album, Bipolar, on October 24, 2008

I love this band the first time I heard their single “Pag-agos”, I instantly fell in love to them. I remember seeing their video in a music channel and trying to remember the title and what their name is. Since then, their names have been etched on my brain like a tattoo. They’re indie bands, and I have a thing for indies. I listen to their songs and I love it, it’s, uhm, very relaxing and it’s lyrics reflect a person’s feelings. Okay that’s too shallow but it’s kind of hard to explain it. I suggest you listen to it and feel the experience. I found the word! When I listen to their songs, I feel like I’m in a trance. πŸ˜€ I heard their new song. It is a soundtrack for one of the TV soap opera here in the country. The first time I heard it, I instantly wanted to put it in my i-Pod and play it on loop. It’s amazing! They never fail to make me fall in love with them every time they release a new song. WHY IS ARMI’S VOICE SO AMAZING?!?

TADHANA – their newest single. this is a soundtrack for the TV soap “Ilumina”

PAG-AGOS (literal English translation, “FLOW”) – this is a single from their very first album entitled “Fragmented” and this is the first song that made me fall in love with them. πŸ™‚

TAYA (literal English translation, “BET”) – a single from their second studio album “Bipolar”

I hope you guys would love (or even like, for love is such a powerful word :p) them as much as I do. πŸ™‚ Enjoy their music! πŸ™‚

