Deep-fried Ham and Cheese Sandwich Wheels

What could ever go wrong when you put together ham and cheese? Both are yummy and you easily eat it without fancy-schmancy.

It’s a Sunday afternoon, I’m craving for a sandwich and guess what we have…ham and cheese! I remembered this recipe from Pepper.ph. On a whim, I decided to make these bad boys!

Photo credit: Pepper.ph

Photo credit: Pepper.ph

It looks really nice, so I was really excited to make these.

Here’s the recipe as lifted from Pepper.ph’s site.

Ingredients

SANDWICH WHEELS:

8 pcs White bread

8 slices Ham

8 slices Cheese

1 cup Breadcrumbs

1-2 pcs Egg

1 cup Flour

CREAMY GORGONZOLA DIP:

1/4 cup heavy cream

1/3-1/2 cup gorgonzola cheese

2 tsp brown sugar

Procedure for making the Sandwiches

Remove edges of white bread.

Flatten bread using a rolling pin.

Layer with one piece ham and one piece cheese.

Roll into wheels. Press firm to hold.

Repeat with the rest.

Then apply bread crumbs on the bread rolls. (Read instructions below)

Procedure for applying bread crumbs and deep-frying the Sandwiches

Arrange breading station: bowl 1 is flour, bowl 2 is egg and bowl 3 is breadcrumbs.

Dust bread roll with flour, dip in egg and coat with breadcrumbs.

Repeat for the other bread rolls.

Heat 1 inch oil in a pan.

When oil is ready for frying, fry bread rolls 2-3 minutes on each side pr until golden brown.

Drain in paper towels and serve with dip.

Procedure for the Creamy Gorgonzola Dip

Mash cheese into cream.

Mix well with sugar.

Set aside until ready to use.

After cooking look at what I got!

It's not as purrtey as the one from Pepper.ph

It’s not as purrtey as the one from Pepper.ph

It looks deformed and it looks burnt! I think It’s because of our bread crumbs, it burns easily when fried. Such a shame because I love (haha!) that bread crumbs. Oh yeah, it tastes pretty good even without the  creamy gorgonzola dip. I will try to make one some other time, hopefully, it turns out well. I also might add some mayo, I feel like it would taste better with it.

image

No matter what I do, I still can’t make it look pretty!

image

Deep fried ham and cheese sandwich for tomorrow’s lunch.

Till my next kitchen adventure! 🙂

