Barbecued Pork

I love experimenting with new recipes and just like any of you, I get my recipes through (drum roll) Google! Sorry people, my mom doesn’t have a handwritten, yellowish and a bit tattered cookbook. I just scour through the net and let my gut decide if it’s worth cooking or not.

Last weekend, I decided to make a 2-week meal plan, so that we’d get to eat whatever we want and not have tons of leftovers in the fridge. Making a meal plan is hard! So I salute those who are dedicated in making weekly meal plans. Anyway, me and my brother went grocery shopping which made me super excited (I’m more excited to shop for food than for clothes, trust me!). Bought the basics and of course, the ingredients on my meal plan.

I didn’t start cooking until Sunday’s lunch. First on the menu is this Barbecued Pork.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup
  • chopped onion
  • 1/2 cup chopped carrot
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1/4 cup
  • catsup
  • 2 tablespoons vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 teaspoon brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 12 ounces cooked pork, cut into bite-size strips (2 cups)
  • 1/2 cup sliced celery 
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons cornstarch
  • 1 tablespoon water

Direction

1. In a 2-quart saucepan stir together onion, carrot, the 1/3 cup water, catsup, vinegar, Worcestershire sauce, brown sugar, chili powder, and pepper. Bring mixture to boiling; reduce heat. Cover and simmer for 10 minutes. Stir in pork and celery. Simmer, covered, for 5 minutes more or until heated through, stirring once.
2. Stir together cornstarch and the 1 tablespoon water. Stir into meat mixture. Cook and stir until thickened and bubbly. Cook and stir for 2 minutes more. Makes 4 servings.
make ahead tip
Prepare pork mixture; cool. Cover and chill up to 24 hours. Transfer to saucepan. Reheat over medium heat, stirring gently but constantly until heated through.
What it's supposed to look like.

What it’s supposed to look like.

This picture convinced me to cook it, since it looks delicious and the recipe’s super simple. BUT my barbecued pork went from that (see picture above), to this (see picture below).

image

MY barbecued pork!

FUDGE!!! It looked like a menudo or a stew and it’s nowhere near to looking like a freakin’ barbecue!

image

Menudo or stew? You decide!

One that saved this from being a disaster is the taste. It tasted like a sweet and sour pork only it’s spicy, really spicy. It’s not that bad, but it’s also not that good. My brother didn’t tell me how it was, so I’m assuming that it’s not that great. I cook because of my brother, he’s the hardest to please among the family. He’s a picky eater with high expectations.

YES! I’m disappointed with this.

image

My “barbecue” that looks like a confused menudo and tastes like a spicy, sweet and sour pork.

Hopefully, my next kitchen adventure would be better! 🙂

