Soy-glazed dory

Cooking fish is always easy. Among pork, beef, chicken and fish, fish is my go-to ingredient when I need to cook something fast and easy. It really gets tiring when you always cook fish fillet, I needed something new and of course, easy. When I created my 2-week meal plan, I was scouring through Pinterest, and that’s where I found this recipe. Btw, another thing I consider when cooking is the ingredients to be used. I don’t want to cook extremely hard recipes which requires tons of ingredients; I would only have the patience to that IF it’s my favorite food or it’s something that’s been occupying my mind for weeks.

IMG_8744

Soy-glazed dory

One evening, after an extremely stressful commute back home, I started preparing my soy-glazed dory. It’s supposed to be salmon, but it’s so expensive (frugal cook!) and I wasn’t sure if I can buy it in the supermarket, so I settled with dory. 

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup(s) packed light-brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup(s) olive oil
  • 3 tablespoon(s) soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoon(s) fresh lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoon(s) dry white wine or water
  • 2 pound(s) salmon fillet
  • Lemon wedges, for serving

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees with a rack in the center. Make the glaze: In a small bowl, stir brown sugar, olive oil, soy sauce, lemon juice, and white wine until the sugar has dissolved.
  2. Cut salmon fillet into 4 equal-size pieces; arrange, skin side down, in a single layer in a baking dish. Pour glaze over the fish, and turn to coat evenly.
  3. Bake until fish is opaque but still bright pink inside, basting every few minutes with glaze from baking dish, 15 to 20 minutes. Serve with lemon wedges.
IMG_8720

Look at that beautiful and very raw dory!

The fish wasn’t thawed thoroughly, so when I cooked it the glaze became watery. I had to remove it from the oven, throw away the glaze and make a new one. Sayang! As much as it hurts me to do it, I had no choice since it would affect the taste of the fish.

I didn’t read the instructions/directions carefully; I wasn’t able to baste the fish!!! But the fish came out just fine. It has absorbed the glaze and I think glazing it twice helped in making the fish tasty and moist.

As all of you know, my brother is my biggest critique. I watched him carefully when he tasted the fish, curious of what he would say. “Lasang pares!, that’s what he told me. How the hell did the fish taste like pares (read as pa-res)?! Instead of getting mad at him (which I normally do), I became more curious about it and was looking forward to tasting it.

Soaking in glaze

Soaking in glaze

It did not taste anything near pares! Maybe because I ate it the day after I cooked it? It tasted sweet and salty (because of the soy), but it’s not fishy (which) I hate in some dishes. The lemon helped, I guess.

I’m thinking of making this again next time, hopefully with salmon. Maybe that would make a difference! I really can’t forget what my brother said about this dish — up to know I still laugh about it.

‘Till my next kitchen (mis)adventure! 🙂

Soy Glazed Dory

Trying my new collage maker. Haha

