Champorado

I’ve been eating champorado (sweet chocolate rice porridge, usually eaten for breakfast) all my life, but I’ve never learned to cook until it recently. It was always my Nanang (grandmother) who cooked champorado for the family. Nanang decided to teach me how to cook champorado, when I was craving it one afternoon.

Breakfast of the champions!

Breakfast of the champions!

Forgive me, but I don’t have a recipe for champorado; my Nanang always “wings” it. She doesn’t need measuring cups, spoons and recipe book in order to make the rice porridge; she just relies on taste. BUT, as always, Mr. Google is there to help. 

Here’s the champorado recipe I found online:

INGREDIENTS

  • 6 ounces bittersweet chocolate, coarsely chopped
  • 1 cup short-grain sweet rice, also known as sticky rice
  • 5 cups water
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup evaporated milk

     

INSTRUCTIONS
  1. Create a double boiler by filling a pot with 2 inches of water and bringing it to a simmer over medium-low heat. Place the chocolate in a heatproof bowl and set it over the pot. (Do not let the water touch the bottom of the bowl.) Stir continuously until the chocolate is completely melted and smooth. Remove from the heat and set aside.
  2. Place the rice in a fine-mesh strainer and rinse it under cold water until the water runs clear. Transfer the rice to a medium saucepan, add the measured water, and bring to a boil over medium heat. Reduce the heat to low and simmer, stirring occasionally, until the rice is tender and the mixture thickens, about 15 minutes.
  3. Add the sugar and melted chocolate to the rice, whisk to combine, and return to a simmer. Continue to simmer, stirring occasionally, until the sugar has dissolved, about 2 to 3 minutes. Remove from the heat and set aside until the pudding has cooled slightly but is still warm, about 45 minutes. (At this point, you can cool the champorado completely, transfer it to a container, cover, and refrigerate for up to 3 days.)
  4. Spoon the champorado into serving bowls and drizzle each with evaporated milk.
This reminds me of my mother's warm hug.

This reminds me of my mother’s warm hug.

I love making champorado because it’s easy to make and you don’t need tons of ingredients in order to make a delicious breakfast. It reminds me of childhood, the warmth of my mother’s embrace and the simplicity of life.

Champorado

Note:

  • Instead of using bitterweet chocolate, I used cocoa powder. My Nanang on the other hand uses Milo. haha
  • In order to melt the cocoa powder, I use the water from the porride (see picture above).
  • This is also best eaten with tuyo (dried fish). The saltiness of tuyo, mixes well with the sweetness of champorado.

Try this recipe and tell me your kitchen (mis)adventure! Or have you tried this sweet chocolate rice porride, how you find this recipe? 🙂

