Salisbury Steak

During weekends, I usually just stay at home. I am the total opposite of a party girl; I love being at home where I can extra lazy. If I’m not reading or surfing the net, you would see me baking or cooking. Cooking (and baking) relaxes me, even if I have to wash tons of utensils after every dish, but it’s always worth it when my brother and my dad love the food I’ve prepared.

As you all know, my brother is a picky eater. Unless he tells me or my dad that he wants seafood, it should always be meat –steak, pork chops, ribs are his favorite! During college, whenever my dad’s too lazy to cook or there’s no food in the fridge, he would tell us to order from a fast food chain (I guess that’s why I’m fat!). If we buy from Jollibee, we order chicken or burger steak. We’ve always enjoyed eating their burger steak, though it’s always bitin since it’s super thin and small!

Patties on steroids!

Patties on steroids!

Never did I thought of looking for its recipe, until I had to make a 2-week meal plan (which I think will now become a 3-week meal plan!). The recipe is not really based on Jollibee’s burger steak, but a Salisbury steak recipe.

Salisbury steak
Patties

1 lb. extra-lean ground beef
1/2 cup unseasoned bread crumbs
1/2 cup skim milk
1 egg white
1/4 cup finely chopped onion (I added some minced garlic as well)
1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper

GRAVY  (I tripled this gravy as it never lasts)
3/4 cup beef broth
1/4 cup dry red wine or beef broth*
1 tablespoon cornstarch
1/4 teaspoon dried thyme leaves
1 (2.5-oz.) jar sliced mushrooms, drained
* One-fourth cup water plus 1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce can be substituted for red wine.


DIRECTIONS 

1. In medium bowl, combine all pattie ingredients; mix gently. (Mixture will be moist.) Shape into 6 oval patties, about 3/4 inch thick.
2. Spray large non-stick skillet with non-stick cooking spray. Heat over medium heat until hot. Add patties; cook 3 minutes on each side or until browned. Remove patties from skillet; drain, if necessary.
3. In small bowl, combine broth, wine, cornstarch and thyme; blend well. Pour into same skillet. Cook over low heat until mixture boils and thickens, stirring constantly. Stir in mushrooms. Return patties to skillet. Cover; simmer about 15 minutes or until patties are no longer pink in center.

Like any recipe, I tweaked it a little; I never followed the exact measurements! Hahaha But it turned out really great! My brother really loved it and said that it’s better than Jollibee’s, plus it’s not bitin! We weren’t able to finish that during lunch, so we still had leftover for dinner. Despite being inside the fridge for hours, it still tasted great after reheating it.

Salivate-worthy photo!

Salivate-worthy photo!

This Salisbury steak will be cooked again, I’m sure of it! The next time I’ll cook it, I will remove the mushrooms since my dad can’t eat mushrooms (as advised by his doctor). But my dad said that it’s really great, if only he can eat it! Haha!

Till my next kitchen adventure!

Must cook this again!

Now get hungry! 🙂

