Easy chicken and dumplings

I’ve been a really bad blogger. Forgive me for neglecting my blog.

Chicken is always the easiest to cook among beef, pork and fish, and cooking it feels like a no-brainer. But, of course, you need to put a twist to your chicken recipes so that you won’t get tired of eating the same thing over and over.

Found a recipe online, Easy chicken and dumplings. I think, I will try to cook any recipe I find online if it has the word easy or quick attach to it. Haha

IMG_8912

OC tendencies! Created a circle of the dumplings. Hahaha If I remember correctly, there was a dumpling in the center.

This dish was really easy to make, BUT it wasn’t as good as I expected it to be. Maybe because I just used flour instead Bisquick Heart Smart® mix. The dumplings were gummy and bland. To save it, I showered it with tons of paprika. The soup was really tasty, it was just the dumplings that tasted really blah. My brother actually thought that I was going to make/put Chinese dumpling in the dish.

Sorry to disappoint you brother, it’s just made of flour! Haha

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 1/2 cups fat-free (skim) milk
  • 1 cup frozen peas and carrots
  • 1 cup cut-up cooked chicken
  • 1 can condensed creamy chicken mushroom soup (10 3/4 ounces)
  • 1 cup Bisquick Heart Smart® mix
  • 1/3 cup fat-free (skim) milk
  • Paprika, if desired

DIRECTIONS 

1. In 3-quart saucepan, heat 1 1/2 cups milk, the frozen peas and carrots, chicken and soup to boiling.

2. In small bowl, stir together Bisquick® mix and 1/3 cup milk until soft dough forms. Drop dough by 8 spoonfuls onto chicken mixture (do not drop directly into liquid). Sprinkle with paprika.

3. Cook uncovered over low heat 10 minutes. Cover and cook 10 minutes longer.

IMG_8865

Don’t you just love the colors this photo?
Chicken and frozen peas and carrots

IMG_8867

Ze dumpling. It actually reminds of bread making. This dough is a bit rubbery.

IMG_8879

Instead of using chicken and mushroom soup, I just used chicken soup. I don’t know if there is a big difference in using the former.

IMG_8890

This dish looks “sopas” or chicken macaroni soup!

IMG_8899

I put way too much paprika…OVERKILL!

IMG_8906

And this dish turned orange. At least it has color! Right? 🙂

Again, sorry for not posting anything after that long and emotional post. I promise to be more responsible in updating this blog.

Till my next kitchen adventure! 🙂

 

