Of tattoos, smoking and threats

While fooling around and teasing my brother earlier, I randomly remembered my friends. To be honest, I don’t know the reason behind this. Since we’re already talking about them, let me share you some funny anecdotes from my friends.

Friend 1:

I’m a big fan of tattoos, nothing too fancy, just a simple one and I’ve told my friends that I want to get one. When I told this to my best friend of almost 20 years, here’s what he told me;

“Ayaw ko ng tattoo. Pag tumanda mag-sa-sag yung balat mo tas hindi magandang tignan… Hindi na kita friend kapag nagpa-tattoo ka.” (I don’t like tattoos. When you grow old, your skin will sag and it wouldn’t look good… You won’t be my friend anymore if you get a tattoo.)

Yes, my friend will “unfriend” me if I get a tattoo. If it was another person, I would have told him/her that I didn’t care, but that person has been with me almost my whole life so of course, I would value our friendship more than a tattoo. I never got a tattoo, so we’re still friends. I actually wonder if he would really hate if I’ve gotten a tattoo. Hahaha

Friend 2:

In college, it was necessary for us freshmen to choose between ROTC or NSTP. I don’t know why, but I chose ROTC. There I met a girl who became one of my closest friend. We bonded because we have a common friend and we had the same crush! I don’t know why she’s still my friend, when that girl made fun of me when I had to sing in front of our platoon (or our group)! I’m no singer, I just had to do something for an individual talent portion during that day. I still cringe when I think of that. Hahaha

Anyway, just like my other friend, I told this girl that I wanted to get a tattoo. She replied to me, “Wag kang magpa-tattoo. The body is the temple of the soul sabi nung pastor namin, kaya huwag.” (Don’t get a tattoo. According to our pastor, the body is the temple of the soul, so don’t get one.) Her reply is very spiritual that in a way it is funny. Please forgive me. Hehe

Friend 3:

Smokers who stand/walk beside or near me, piss me off. I was never a fan of smoking and even if I have friends who are smokers, I wasn’t influenced. I guess it’s also because my dad has always told me not to smoke since he’s not a smoker himself and maybe because I’m freaking stingy!

So one sunny afternoon, my friend and I were on our way to buy some grub, when we started talking about smokers. I asked her, what if I smoked. She abruptly cuts off my monologue and declared, “Hai naku, Alex, kapag nag-yosi ka hindi na kita friend.” (Alex, you wouldn’t be my friend anymore if you start smoking.)

Okay… So my friends are so ready to “unfriend” me if ever I do something stupid. It’s kind of cute, isn’t it? The friends are so concerned about you that they wouldn’t mind resorting to threats. This is not sarcastic, okay! I just find it really amusing. I’m really thankful that I have friends like them; ones who remind you not to do anything stupid and would go to lengths of pushing you into the right track.

Friends are the family you choose.

Wow, this post is starting to get cheesy. Haha

Oh by the way, please congratulate me for maintaining this blog! Six years ago, I decided to create this blog so that I can vent out my feelings and my obsessions.  Six years later, it’s still the same. I’m still an irresponsible blogger, but at least I still update once in a while. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Of tattoos, smoking and threats

Leave a Reply

