Letting go and moving on

In  two days, I’ll be leaving a place I’ve called home for more than a year, DataBlitz. Leaving is bittersweet. A part of me is excited to finally have legit weekends-two days of just being lazy, baking or going somewhere. I’m excited to meet new people, to do new-old work, and for the change. As excited as I am, another part of me is sad and scared. Sad that I’m leaving the people that have become family and close friends. I’ll never get to see these people who have always supported and encouraged me whenever life went overwhelmingly crazy. There were also people who drove me a little out of my comfort zone, tested my patience, brought out my sassiness, and some that made my eyes sweat. They’ve become a huge part of me that I’m scared to let them go, like the teddy bear you used to hold at night when you were a kid. I’m scared. Scared if I’ll meet people like them, people who will help me become a much better person and people who will encourage and help me when things get crazy.

I’m scared of the change. I’ve been way too comfortable being here, that it’s scary to leave. It’s a bit depressing how I’m back to zero and I need to work my way up the ladder again, but the challenge excites me. My patience, determination, and willingness to learn will once again be challenged.

I’ll miss the routine, I’ll miss doing things that brought me way out of my comfort zone, and I’ll miss hurting myself with cutter because of plain stupidity. But I will not miss 6-day work, I will not miss scolding people, I will not miss being followed up for our membership program, and I will not miss rushing everything. I do not hate nor regret working here, instead I’m grateful. Grateful that this work has challenged me, it has brought me out of my comfort zone and met people that have humbled me and made me view things differently. I’m also grateful for this work as it has helped me be more appreciative of what I have.

There were not-so-nice things that happened, but there were more events that are worth remembering.

As I’ve said earlier, I’m grateful for every experience I’ve had in DataBlitz. It has toughened me up, made me more in touch with “reality” and it helped me realize and appreciate even the smallest things.

It was a crazy ride and it’s time for me to get off this rollercoaster.

Adios, DB!

