Sagada (Day 1 – afternoon)

After lunch, we rode another jeep to Bumod-ok Falls. The jeepney ride was less than 10 minutes. We were dropped off at the information center (?) where several guides were waiting for us. We were then divided into 4 groups (8 persons per group) so that it will be easier for us to trek to Bumod-ok.

On the first part of the trek, everyone was still energetic, we were still talking, and we were very excited to swim on the falls.

Sgd, Mt. Province

Sgd, Mt. Province

Sgd, Mt. Province

Sgd, Mt. Province

Sgd, Mt. Province

I think, everyone was very confident that we’d easily reach the falls in no time. It’s just trekking, what could go wrong, right? The scenic views would keep us entertained and there were tons of people whom we can chat with or take pictures with when we’re bored.

Sgd, Mt. Province

Sgd, Mt. Province

Sgd, Mt. Province

Since everyone was taking pictures here, I decided to also have my picture taken. Haha *peer pressure*

Sgd, Mt. Province

Halfway during the trek, everyone was already exhausted and kept asking our guide whether we’re already near. Think of a child asking his parents, “Are we there yet?” millions of times. Our guide was very patient and she joked that we’re already 1/4 of the first half of the trekking. Not something we wanted to hear.

Sgd, Mt. Province

Sgd, Mt. Province

I think, this was already halfway during the trek. The first two groups have left us already and were almost near the falls. We decided to stop for a while to rest. The excitement and anticipation decreased slowly, exhaustion was taking over.

Once in a while, we passed by groups who already went to the falls. Everyone was wet, exhausted, and panting. Half of them told us, “Good luck.” Is that a warning for us, I thought. Oh well!

Sgd, Mt. Province

Sgd, Mt. Province

Sgd, Mt. Province

It’s not everyday that you get to be on the rice terraces, so every time there’s an opportunity to take pictures, we immediately bring out our cameras and take pictures of everything and everyone. At least we were not sweaty during the trek, thanks to the cool weather of Sagada, but we look exhausted! 🙂

When we were already near the falls, it started to drizzle, so I think everyone didn’t want to take pictures anymore at the bridge. We just wanted to get to the falls, ASAP!

After 2 hours (or even more) of trekking, we finally reached Bumod-ok falls. A lot of people were already there.

Sgd, Mt. Province

Sgd, Mt. Province

Sgd, Mt. Province

Sgd, Mt. Province

My gosh, I look like sh*t!

Bumod-Ok Falls, Sagada

Photo credit: Ihris Crisostomo

Bumod-Ok Falls, Sagada

Photo credit: Ihris Crisostomo

The water was freezing! Then it started raining hard. We wanted to swim under the falls, but the water was very deep going there and we were already freezing, so we decided to abandon the idea.

I think we only stayed there for 20 minutes. It started to rain harder and there were more and more people coming to the falls.

On our way back, someone had cramps and we had to wait for him in the middle of rain. So romantic! Haha

The trek back was harder as it was muddy and slippery. I fell onto the rice paddies, TWICE! Thankfully, it has been just my feet and I didn’t kiss the ground. But you know what I was worried to the most? Breaking my dad’s slippers! Hahaha

Halfway, the rain stopped and we had to wait for several people. While waiting, I realized that I was thirsty. I never drank a single drop of water during our entire trek, so I immediately bought water. It was expensive. 😦

After waiting for 10 minutes, our guide decided to merge us to another group as she will find the others who were left behind. We took a different path.

Sgd, Mt. Province

When we saw this falls, one person said, “May falls naman pala dito, dapat dito na lang tao nag-swimming!” (There’s a falls here, we should have just swam here!) Haha I kind of agreed with her statement.

Sgd, Mt. Province

Sgd, Mt. Province

Sgd, Mt. Province

Sgd, Mt. Province

Rainbow! Rainbows are a lucky charm. Everyone stopped walking when we saw the rainbow. Click here, click there. Rainbows are a very rare sight in the metro, so everyone was just excited as I was when we saw it.

Sgd, Mt. Province

Sgd, Mt. Province

Sgd, Mt. Province

Sgd, Mt. Province

The cloud and Earth kissing. So breathtaking to see this in person. There’s something about this view that overwhelmed me; I almost cried!

Sgd, Mt. Province

Despite our exhaustion, everyone was still game to take a group picture. We were the first ones who reached the top, so you can say that this is a celebratory photo.

When we got to our hostel, I immediately took a bath. There was no hot shower, but I didn’t care. I just wanted to take a shower. Me and Cris, then decided to have dinner. I forgot where, but we chose it because it was the only restaurant still accepting customers.  Haha The food was great and the serving was HUGE!

IMG_2721

After dinner, we walked around because we were full, but we ended up getting sweets from Sagada Brew. T-T

Despite being full, we slept early, because we had to wake up at 3 am to see the sunrise at Kiltepan.

