Grill Pan Waffles

You know that feeling when you’re craving for something, and you can’t get it out of your head. 2 weeks ago, I tweeted that I wanted waffles. I still haven’t eaten it since a tweeted it. I’ve seen waffle stalls everywhere, they even have it in Starbucks! But I’ve been too lazy to buy one and sometimes I’m feeling a bit stingy, so I refuse to buy overpriced waffle.

I want you in my mouth. Omnomnomnom (Photo courtesy: witzel.org)
I want you in my mouth. Omnomnomnom (Photo courtesy: witzel.org)

I was feeling a bit down earlier — caused by the lost of DLSU Green Archers to the UE Red Warriors. So, I needed to eat something that would make my mood better; I remembered waffles! Just thinking about it makes me salivate (forgive me for sounding so crude). I really wanted to eat one. I don’t have a waffle iron, but I was thinking of ways how to make waffles without the iron. There has to be a way, I thought. As usual, Google has the answer. I found this pretty amazing way of making waffles, minus the iron waffle.

wpid-DSC_1115.JPG
This is a confused pancake.
wpid-DSC_1116.JPG
Ohh look at that pancake pretending to be a waffle!

If you’re expecting this to be like the ones you get using your waffle iron, I’m sorry (I’m not sorry), but this wouldn’t be the same. My waffles weren’t as crispy, though it actually would taste like waffles! I still have to practice making this recipe as I’ve burnt it a little bit. I think it has something to do with the grill pan I used. This is an easy, quick and cheap way to satisfy that waffle craving of yours.

I didn’t used the waffle recipe on the link; I used a pancake mix that we bought a month ago and followed the instructions at the back.

I hope you don’t judge me for using pancake mix. Hahaha

To make this more sinful (and fattening), I added Speculoos Crunchy Cookie Butter and maple syrup on top. DOUBLE COMBO! Haha

Grill Pan Waffle with Speculoos Crunchy Cookie Butter (Sinful!)
Grill Pan Waffle with Speculoos Crunchy Cookie Butter (Sinful!)

I miss blogging! I’m so happy to have posted a kitchen (mis)adventure of mine. Hope this would continue! 🙂

Leave a comment